Can an out of state resident get a medical card in colorado?

Colorado is another state that technically doesn't recognize out-of-state MMJ cards. However, the Colorado card is recognized in Arizona, Maine, Michigan, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oregon and Rhode Island. Meanwhile, in Michigan and Alaska, the dispensary decides whether to accept cards from another state. While Illinois does not allow reciprocity for medical marijuana, it has legalized recreational cannabis.

Unlike many other states, there are some limitations to what out-of-state residents can buy. Non-residents 21 years of age and older can consume 15 grams of cannabis, 250 mg of herbal teas and 2.5 grams of concentrate. You must be 18 years of age or older and a resident of Colorado. You can prove your residency with a driver's license or Colorado ID, and you need a valid Social Security number.

Your medical marijuana card is only valid for use in Colorado. To apply for a medical marijuana card in Colorado, you must be a legal resident of Colorado. Cannabis can be purchased at a medical marijuana dispensary or at a recreational retail store (for adults). However, patients who wish to receive specific suggestions for their wellness goals should visit a medical dispensary.

Both doctors should agree that medical cannabis would provide tangible benefit to their patients. Medical marijuana patients from another state who were minors used to be able to obtain cannabis in Pennsylvania; however, that law seems to have been recently repealed. Just because you have a medical marijuana card doesn't mean you can automatically buy cannabis from a dispensary in a state where it's legal. Since SC doesn't have a permanent medical cannabis program, unfortunately, you won't be able to use reciprocity anywhere.

Colorado's medical cannabis program does not accept or recognize patients with cards issued by other states. Use of this site is for personal use, in jurisdictions where medical cannabis is legal under state or local law. Medical cannabis patients and caregivers can have up to 2.5 ounces of edibles, flowers, concentrates, or topicals per two-week period. During the COVID pandemic, Colorado allowed online medical cannabis certifications, but this is no longer the case.

That means they enforce any company in the Colorado cannabis industry, including growers, processors and manufacturers of marijuana, and medical and retail dispensaries. Currently, only medical dispensaries in Colorado that the state has approved can provide home delivery of cannabis to patients. If you're a patient with a Colorado medical card, you'll want to learn more about how these changes can affect the potency and quantities of cannabis you can buy. Under state regulations, only patients with terminal cancer in states that have comparable medical cannabis programs can use and make legal purchases in West Virginia.

The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment has received requests to add the following as “qualifying medical conditions” for which doctors can recommend medical marijuana. Leafwell is not providing certifications for Colorado at this time, as medical cannabis qualification is no longer available through telehealth in Colorado.

Geneva Lattig
Geneva Lattig

Hardcore pop culture geek. Professional coffeeaholic. Infuriatingly humble zombie maven. Evil bacon junkie. Avid organizer. General twitter nerd.